Llangorse sailor awarded new boat by John Merrick’s Trust!

Llangorse sailor awarded new boat by John Merrick’s Trust!

Congratulations James!! 

Each year we encourage our new talented  junior sailors (who don’t already own a boat) to apply for the John Merrick’s Sailing Trust OnBoard Award 2017 which awards some very talented sailors their very own brand new boat!

Each year, at least one young sailor will be selected from each of the nine RYA Zones and Home Countries giving them two years of exclusive use of their own boat donated to their club or centre, by the Trust. After which the boats will be returned to the sailor’s original club so other young sailors can continue to benefit in the future and progress into club and regional racing activities.

Huw Farmer from our club was very proud to be awarded Optimist 6250 in previous years which we have now awarded to another promising junior member – Cian Epstien!

It’s an awesome award and a great honour for the children who have shown talent, perseverance and skill in pursuit of a sport they fall in love with and hope to achieve great results in the following seasons, perhaps even over their lifetime.

Our very own James Gosson has shown just this enthusiasm, determination and skill this past year and indeed been gifted a brand new boat. Starting out in Cadet Week he then followed through with another RYA course at the club and joined in many of our Cadet Coaching days,  borrowing one of our Racing Optimists to do so. He showed quick progress and natural talent moving into racing within the same season and coming top of the score board. Congratulations James, well deserved! He’s an absolute pleasure to coach – attentive, interested, smart, always wanting to learn more to improve further and gives 100%. Not only that, he’s often smiling and shows great respect for other sailors, coaches and families and will undoubtedly prove to be a good ambassador for the club. James has also made it into the South West Wales Regional Optimist Sailing Squad along with other members Osian James, Cian Epstein and Béa Sparks. James we wish you well and good luck for the upcoming season!

Congratulations to all our junior members who have worked incredibly hard last season to win their places in Squads and our hall of fame!

Welsh National Laser Performance Squad

  • Theo Phillips
  • Duncan Lloyd-Evans

Welsh National Laser Transitional Squad

  • Oliver Vowles
  • Ben Willett

Welsh National Topper Squad

  • Madeline Vowles
  • Aled Llewellyn-Jones
  • Oliver Smoult
  • Miles Everett
  • Thomas Willett
  • Ceri Roberts
  • Iwan Roberts
  • Luc James

Welsh National Optimist Squad

  • Huw Farmer

RYA South & West Wales Regional Optimist Squad

  • Cian Epstein
  • James Gosson
  • Osian James
  • Béa Sparks

RYA South & West Wales Regional Topper Squad

  • Jolyon Smoult
  • Seren Collier
  • James Laurie-Chiswell